Madden 21 Team of the Year to Feature Russell Wilson, POTY T.J. Watt, and More

The Madden 21 Team of the Year will celebrate EA’s selections for some of the best players from the past season of football. Based on the reveal, it appears to have left out some of the top candidates for MVP or other awards. However, there will be upgraded cards for stars at each position including Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson. Pittsburgh Steelers defensive star T.J. Watt is the official Player of the Year.

Wilson, Watt headline 2021 TOTY selections

He won’t win the Most Valuable Player this season, but the Seahawks’ Russell Wilson gets TOTY honors in Madden. Wilson finished the season with 4,212 passing yards and 40 touchdowns thrown. That earns him an upgraded 96 OVR item for the Madden 21 Team of the Year promotion.

There’s also a Player of the Year for TOTY and that honor goes to Pittsburgh Steelers linebacker T.J. Watt. In the past season, Watt racked up 43 solo tackles, 15 sacks, and two forced fumbles during 15 games for Pittsburgh. His card will be a 97 overall item as shown below. So far, only Watt’s card attributes are revealed.

Watt’s new TOTY card brings 96 Tackling and Finesse Moves along with 93 Acceleration, 95 Play Recognition, 94 Block Shedding, and 90 Speed. His previous best card in Ultimate Team was his 90 overall Team of the Week item.

All Madden 21 Team of the Year players revealed

Joining Wilson and Watt are many other deserving, or perhaps surprising players. The Vikings’ Dalvin Cook gets the nod at halfback, with the Bills’ Stefan Diggs and Vikings’ Justin Jefferson at wide receiver. Darren Waller of the Raiders is the Madden 21 Team of the Year tight end. Up front are stars including the Colts’ Quenton Nelson at left guard, Packers’ Corey Linsley at Center, and 49ers’ Trent Williams at Left Tackle.

On defense, gamers will find the Broncos’ Bryce Callahan and Dolphins’ Xavien Howard at the corners. Joey Bosa of the Chargers gets the nod for the left end, while the Steelers’ Cameron Heyward gets the right end spot. Former Madden 99 Club member Khalil Mack of the Bears is the LOLB, with DeMario Davis, and Lavonte David joining him as the backs. The Seahawks’ Jamal Adams and Bengals’ Jessie Davis III are the safeties.

Don’t forget specialists as they’ll include Lions punter Jack Fox, Ravens fullback Patrick Ricard, and Dolphins kicker Jason Sanders.

Check out the full lineup of players below. So far, only some of the items’ attributes have been revealed including POTY T.J. Watt.

The new Madden 21 Team of the Year promotion begins on Tuesday, January 26. Gamers receive a free lower-rated T.J. Watt card as part of the welcome pack for the promotion when logging in. There will also be new challenges and exchange sets arriving in Ultimate Team with the promo.

Visit our Madden news page for more of the latest current and next-gen game updates.