NBA 2K League Players Chiquita Evans, Timothy Anselimo Among 2019 ESPYS Nominees

There’s no denying that the world of esports continues to get bigger each and every year. It’s become so big to the fact it’s now going to be recognized with a new award at the 2019 ESPYS which typically hand out awards for the best of the best in sports. This year’s ESPYS will include a special category for best moment in eSports and two NBA 2K League players are amongst the nominees that fans can vote for.

NBA 2K League Players Evans, Anselimo in historic moments

Per ESPN’s report, the ESPYS category called “Best eSports Moment” will include a total of 16 moments vying for the award. They feature moments from the worlds of BlizzCon, League of Legends World Championship, E3 ProAM, and Overwatch League Championship. There’s also NBA 2K League which has two special players and their moments included.

One of those is Best Play No. 11 featuring Timothy “oLARRY” Anselimo. He made an emotional and inspiring return to NBA 2K League following the tragic Jacksonville shooting at the Madden tournament. The other moment came during the NBA 2K League’s 2019 Draft. At that event, Chiquita Evans was a draft pick for Warriors Gaming, making history as the league’s first female player.

Evans tweeted on Saturday (June 22) about being recognized for the ESPYS award.

Both moments are special and both seem deserving of an award. Unfortunately, they’re up against 14 other nominees and some tough competition. The fact that there’s a Ninja and Marshmello Fortnite moment or one featuring Team Liquid as well as other popular games could make it tough for Evans or Anselimo. Some of the other games featuring eSports moments nominees include Rainbow Six: Siege, League of Legends, Overwatch, and Starcraft.

How to vote for Best Moment in eSports, ESPYS viewing

The fans will vote on the 16 nominees to determine the winner. Voting takes place on the ESPN eSports Twitter starting on Sunday (June 23-24) with a Twitter poll featuring eight of the nominees. On June 24 and 25, the other eight nominees will be featured in another Twitter poll.

Ultimately, that will produce a quarterfinals vote-off for June 28 to 30, followed by a semifinals vote-off from July 3 to 5. The finals vote-off from July 5 to 6 will determine the ESPYS award winner.

Viewers can watch the ESPYS show on July 10 on ABC starting at 8 p.m. Eastern Time.