Register Now
kingpotato

New generation of Consoles not really innovating.

I was reading an interview to the boss of Platinum games and he said that that the upcoming hardware feels like “more of the same quite frankly, compared to previous generations. It’s nothing that’s disruptive or super innovative, if you ask me.” Aside from shorter load times and some few tweaks in the graphics the new consoles are not going to be much of a leap forward. Which makes me wonder, how noticeable will the difference between the current gen and the next gen will be ?
I'm not an expert in hardware specifications so I even when knowing some of the specs of the new consoles I cant make myself an idea as to how much of a difference it will be.

From what I’ve read and seen online, the only real difference will be the name of the systems. Yes there will be games released that are only playable on that generation. But there’s so far no real improvement to graphics or processors that I’ve come across in any articles. Look at the PS5. It’s going to be fully compatible with PS4 games. That should be a red flag to begin with. Reverse play is a good thing, but when that’s the selling point of a system, instead of other technological improvements, I tend to lose a bit of faith.

From what I've seen, the next-gen systems will be significantly more powerful, but use pretty much the same kind of tech as before. So in terms of functionality, it will probably be pretty much the same. Maybe that's what he meant. It's possible he did mean graphics as well, and if he did, he might have a point. Graphics are hitting a glass ceiling. It's getting to the point you can increase the power and graphics processing capabilities of a system several times over and make less and less of a difference.